Colossal Wakes Help Crown Champions at MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Finale

Grand Rapids, Mich. ― Thousands of fans lined the shores of Millennium Park to witness the final stop of the 2014 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, presented by Rockstar Energy. Boardshorts, bikinis and excellent wakeboarding conditions were on-point during one of the most astonishing finals to date. The best wakeboarders on the planet went to combat against each other; Harley Clifford (AUS), Phil Soven (USA), Shota Tezuka (JPN) and Massi Piffaretti (ITA) absolutely threw down behind the MasterCraft X-Star. The CONTOUR Big Air Kicker Contest took to the skies as well, with Dean Smith (AUS), Aaron Rathy (CDN), Noah Flegel (USA) and Chad Sharpe (CDN) launching themselves off of the CONTOUR Kicker.

After round one of the finals, the placements stood: 1st-Harley Clifford (AUS), 2nd-Josh Twelker (USA) and 3rd-Phil Soven (USA); however, with Rusty Malinoski (CDN), Shota Tezuka (JPN) and Massi Piffaretti (ITA) hungry for a podium spot, everyone knew it could be anyone’s time to shine. Soven would be first off the dock and he decided to put down two incredible passes that included some of his signature tricks such as switch nose-grabbed crow mobe 540 and nose-grabbed moby dick 540 finished with a wrapped nose-grabbed backside rodeo 540. Tezuka would show the crowd he could hold his own as well, stomping a heelside frontside 900 followed by an almost flawless two passes. In the end, the riders could not match the insanity created by Clifford and would fall just short. Leaving the nose-grabbed mobe 540, tail-grabbed KGB and melon toeside frontside 900 spinning Harley Clifford as your 2014 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour – Grand Rapids champion and the 2014 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Overall Champion!

“I couldn't be more pumped with my results today!” says Champion Harley Clifford. “It was one of the coolest finals of the year and it was so close between everyone. No one knew which way it would go.”

The CONTOUR Big Air Kicker contest got the day ramped up! With towboat driver #1 Travis Moye hammering the X-Star throttle down, the riders sent it as high and far as humanly possible. Rockstar rider Aaron Rathy (CDN) set the bar with a huge stalefish backside 360. However, fellow Rockstar teammate, Dean Smith (AUS) would not be outdone, ripping into the kicker with certainty he was going to land a backside 720 just as large as Rathy’s 360. After it was said and done, it was Dean Smith to take the win, followed by Aaron Rathy, and Chad Sharpe.

"I was thrilled to be able to hit my backside 7 first go today,” explains CONTOUR Big Air Kicker Champ Dean Smith. “I had fallen on it at the previous King of Wake stop, so it was nice to have it back under my belt.”

Make sure to stay tuned to for more awesome highlight media and don’t forget to set your TV sets to NBC Sports on October 12 at 4:30 p.m. EST to catch the whole event.

MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour Day Two Results

Men’s Pro ― Quarter Finals (Riders in bold advance to Semi Finals)

Heat 1

1. Oli Derome 88.33

2. Massi Piffaretti 85.33

3. Joshua Palma 76.00

4. Jason Bannatyne 71.67

Heat 2

1. Josh Twelker 90.00

2. Noah Flegel 86.33

3. Kyle Rattray 75.00

4. Pierce Homsey 63.33

Heat 3

1. Steel Lafferty 86.67

2. Danny Harf 65.00

3. Tony Carroll 53.33

4. Aaron Rathy 41.67

Heat 4

1. Tony Iacconi 90.67

2. Shota Tezuka 90.00

3. Daniel Powers 73.33

4. Austin Hair 51.67

Heat 5

1. Rusty Malinoski 88.33

2. Phillip Soven 84.33

3. Keenan Allen 81.67

4. Brad Teunissen 60.00

Heat 6

1. Harley Clifford 89.00

2. Dean Smith 85.00

3. Darin Shapiro 76.67

4. Thomas Herman 45.33

Men’s Pro ― Semi Finals (Riders in bold advance to Finals)

Heat 1

1. Josh Twelker 90.00

2. Phillip Soven 86.67

3. Steel Lafferty 83.33

4. Noah Flegel 79.33

Heat 2

1. Rusty Malinoski 88.33

2. Massi Piffaretti 83.67

3. Dean Smith 81.67

4. Oli Derome 35.00

Heat 3

1. Harley Clifford 95.33

2. Shota Tezuka 89.00

3. Tony Iacconi 86.00

4. Danny Harf 65.33

Men’s Pro ― Finals 

Heat 1

Harley Clifford 94.00

Phillip Soven 92.33

Shota Tezuka 91.33

Massi Piffaretti 90.33

Josh Twelker 89.00

Rusty Malinoski 66.67

CONTOUR Big Air Kicker

1. Dean Smith

2. Aaron Rathy

3. Chad Sharpe

4. Massi Piffaretti

5. Austin Hair

6. Stephen Pierce

For more information on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, please visit

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, presented by Rockstar, is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla., and has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, WWA, Indmar, Ronix, Billabong, CONTOUR, CWB, Hyperlite, Byerly, Peavey, Sayiwon’t, Epiphone and WAKEBOARDING magazine.

About MasterCraft

MasterCraft is the exclusive towboat for the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the tour’s wakeboarding events began in 1992. For more information, visit

About Rockstar

Rockstar Energy Drink is designed for those who lead active lifestyles ― from athletes to Rockstars. Available in over 20 flavors at convenience and grocery outlets in over 30 countries, Rockstar supports the Rockstar lifestyle across the globe through action sports, motor sports and live music. For more information, visit

About King of Wake

The King of Wake is the world’s elite pro wakeboarding series, attracting the sport’s top athletes from throughout the globe. Over the course of a season, athletes compete for the ultimate wakeboarding crown in a series points race of eight events throughout the United States to see who rules the wake. The King of Wake is organized by World Sports & Marketing ― the leading wake-events producer since 1988.

Tags: king of wake, wake, pro wake tour, wakeboard, wakeboarding, grand rapids, oli derome, kyle rattray, aaron rathy, tony iacconi, daniel powers, rusty malinoski, dean smith, chad sharpe

Pure Zero Watermelon

Social Feed

1 hour ago: Awesome shot of @TheRJ37 last weekend's @LOORRS Lake Elsinore! #RockstarOffroad see full story

19 hours ago: Slidin' into the weekend like… #RockstarenergyModels see full story

1 day ago: Happy Friday from your friendly neighborhood #RockstarModels! see full story

1 day ago: RT @TannerFoust: Make sure to place your vote for your favorite 2016 GRC driver! You can vote once an hour until 10/9… see full story

1 day ago: RT @GrahamJarvis1: @Husqvarna1903 @rockstarenergy @shotracegear @AirohHelmet @ride100percent #rockstarhusky see full story

1 day ago: RT @DrivenSteering: @FormulaDrift World Champion @FredricAasbo is DRIVEN w/ a custom @rockstarenergy 2 spoke rally steering wheel! #Innovat… see full story

2 days ago: A little time spent in the park makes @TorsteinHorgmo a happy camper! #RockstarEnergy #Snowboarding see full story

2 days ago: And the finale! Episode 3 of United by Power featuring #RockstarRacing's Team USA stars is live on FMF Racing #RockstarEnergy see full story

3 days ago: The series continues! Check out episode 2 of FMF's United Power featuring Team USA riders Cooper Webb, Jason Anderson and Alex Martin! #RockstarEnergy see full story

4 days ago: Huge congrats Rob MacCachren and his team on clinching the overall #Pro2 LOORRS Championship this past weekend! #RockstarOffRoad see full story

4 days ago: Tune in to MTV tonight at 10:30 ET for Jolene Van Vugt's episode of Ridiculousness!! Check it out for plenty of laughs with Rob Dyrdek, Steelo Brim and the... see full story

5 days ago: Team USA overcame waves of adversity led by Jason Anderson's moto win to claim 3rd overall at #MXoN2016. Battered and bruised the team just missed the... see full story